Catholic Education Commission (CEC)

The Archbishop is responsible for the oversight of all Catholic schools within the Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn. The Catholic Education Commission (CEC) was established to support and advise the Archbishop in his responsibilities for Catholic schools in the Archdiocese. The CEC advises and makes recommendation to the Archbishop but does not make decisions. The CEC is not an incorporated body.

“The Catholic Education Commission, as a ministry of the Church of the Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn is committed to authentic Catholic education centred in God’s love for each person, as revealed in Jesus Christ.”

The Archbishop of Canberra and Goulburn is the President of the Catholic Education Commission. The Archbishop appoints all CEC members for a four-year term with an option for a further four years on the invitation of the Archbishop. The Archbishop appoints a Chair as an ex-officio member of the CEC. CEC Members are drawn from key stakeholder groups in the Archdiocese including: clergy, parents (NSW and ACT), principals (NSW/ACT and Primary/Secondary and Congregational), Catholic agencies and Australian Catholic University. The Director of Catholic Education is the Executive Officer of the CEC. The Catholic Education Commission meets up to seven times per year.

Contact Details

Street Address: 52- 54 Franklin Street, Manuka ACT 2603 (Corner Franklin St and Furneaux St)
Postal Address: PO Box 3317, Manuka, ACT, 2603
Phone: (02) 6234 5436

All correspondence is to be addressed to the Executive Secretary, Frances Neuss.

For more information, visit